Bridge Working Group

About the Working Group

Bridges sometimes form the weakest link in sustainable local road network. The working group was formed to allow effective collaboration between Councils, TfNSW and experts to provide long term benefits to the community.

The Chairperson of the Bridge Working Party is David Andrews - Transport for NSW.

Objectives of the Working Group

  • To investigate and report on the issue of upgrading and managing bridge assets across NSW.

  • To develop a reporting framework and appropriate benchmarks so that detailed strategic planning can be carried out.

  • To develop a coordinated asset management approach to bridge assets across NSW. To research and develop technical information packages to assist bridge practitioners across NSW.

  • To provide assistance to LGNSW in lobbying for increased and ongoing funding and resources for the replacement and management of bridges assets across NSW.

  • To share lessons learned in the design and construction of bridges for local roads.

  • To continuously improve the skills of the local government workforce for bridge building and maintenance.

Working Group Members

David Andrews - TfNSW
Adele McGeary - Clarence Council
Craig Riley - Bridge Knowledge
Gary Woodman - Warren Shire Council & IPWEA NSW & ACT Board Director
Lindsay Brown - TfNSW
Margaret Sale - Eurobodalla Shire Council
Maria Rashidi - Western Sydney University
Peter Mahar - Bridge Knowledge
Will Barton - Hawkesbury Shire Council & IPWEA NSW & ACT Board Director
Josh Devitt - Roads & Transport Directorate
William Douglas - Roads & Transport Directorate

For more information on the Bridge Working Group, contact us at or on (02) 8267 3000

© 2024 IPWEA (NSW) All prices are in Australian Dollars ($AUD)